Defiant Queen by Meghan March ~ Sarah A’s Review

The Mount Trilogy continues with Defiant Queen…

I’m his entertainment. His toy. Payment on a debt.

I tell myself I hate him, but every time he walks into the room, my body betrays me. How can I want him and fear him in the same moment?

They told me he’d mess with my head. Make it go to war with my body.

But I didn’t realize it would be complete anarchy.

I should’ve known better. When Mount’s involved, there are no rules.

I will not surrender. I will not show weakness. I’ll stand my ground and make it out of this bargain with my heart and soul intact.

But he has other plans . . .

Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira’s story concludes in Sinful Empire.

Amazon US | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon UK | Amazon AU

I finally felt a modicum of relief after the ending of Ruthless King, just to thrown directly back into the fire with Defiant Queen.  So many things were answered in this book, while so many other questions were posed.  And that ending?  Wow.  I can’t wait to see how things all play out in the final book of this trilogy, Sinful Empire.

Defiant Queen dives right in with an incredible intensity, giving us a tiny glimpse into how Lachlan Mount began his life and development into the terrifying human being he has become.  It was frightening and heartbreaking, and remarkably enlightening.  I still have a thousand questions about who he is and how he went from the boy we learned about in this book to the man we’ve seen in both books, but I have no doubt those answers will be fascinating.

A new side of both Lachlan Mount and Kiera Kilgore in Defiant Queen.  I was shocked by some of the new revelations, and they lent a new light to how compatible they may actually be.  I found the entire shift in dynamic surprising, yet comforting.  I have no doubt these two have myriad secrets still lying in wait to reveal in the coming book.

There are so many things I just want to say about this book, but it would be a disservice to anyone who hasn’t read the book to let any of those details not be discovered as they were intended.  Just know that Lachlan Mount has carved himself a big piece of my heart and I see him keeping it for a long time.  He is someone who is so deeply buried in the façade of who he has to be; he has forgotten who he actually is beneath that mask.

Meghan March is quickly finding herself a place on my list of must-read authors.  She has so wholly engrossed me in Kiera and Lachlan’s story; I have to believe she has the ability to do that with anything she writes.  Her writing is so well-paced and gripping; I find it hard to put her books down, even when I have real-life issues to deal with.  I’ll certainly be treating myself to some of the books on Ms. March’s backlist, and I have my eye on the Beneath series after this book.

Get ready for the darker and dirtier side of New Orleans with a brand new alpha romance from USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

New Orleans belongs to me.

You don’t know my name, but I control everything you see—and all the things you don’t.

My reach knows no bounds, and my demands are always met.

I didn’t need to loan money to a failing family distillery, but it amuses me to have them in my debt.

To have her in my debt.

She doesn’t know she caught my attention.

She should’ve been more careful.

I’m going to own her. Consume her. Maybe even keep her.

It’s time to collect what I’m owed.

Keira Kilgore, you’re now the property of Lachlan Mount.

Ruthless King is book one of the Mount Trilogy

Amazon US | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon UK | Amazon AU

Release Day December 19, 2017 

The Mount Trilogy concludes with Sinful Empire!

What’s mine, I keep, and that includes Keira Kilgore.

It’s no longer enough to have her in my debt. No longer enough to own her body.

I want something more.

She can try to resist, but I’ll never give her up.

Nothing will keep us apart.

Not her. Not my enemies. No one.

Her debt will only be paid one way—with her heart.

Sinful Empire is the third and final book in the Mount Trilogy.

Amazon US | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon UK | Amazon AU

Meghan March has been known to wear camo face paint and tromp around in woods wearing mud-covered boots, all while sporting a perfect manicure. She’s also impulsive, easily entertained, and absolutely unapologetic about the fact that she loves to read and write smut. Her past lives include slinging auto parts, selling lingerie, making custom jewelry, and practicing corporate law. Writing books about dirty talking alpha males and the strong, sassy women who bring them to their knees is by far the most fabulous job she’s ever had. She loves hearing from her readers at


One thought on “Defiant Queen by Meghan March ~ Sarah A’s Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.