NEW RELEASE!! FIX by Molly McAdams ~ Sarah A’s Review

 

FixCoverI’m a lot of things.
The youngest Dixon. Town handyman. Best you’ll ever have . . . you’re welcome.
One thing I’m not? The guy who falls in love.

When Rae Jacobs enters my town with her ever-present laptop and caffeine addiction, she offers me a fleeting glance and a simple demand:
Don’t fall in love with her.
Bold.
Assuming.
Laughable, considering she isn’t exactly my type.

Wasn’t.
But she inadvertently shook up my life with her alluring, carefree spirit until I wanted more.
Until I made her mine.
She’s a habit I can’t quit. A fix I can’t get enough of.

Each day brings me closer to saying the three words I’ve always mocked.
But with one call, the piled-high secrets she’s kept start unraveling around her, and I have a feeling the demand that first day wasn’t so simple.

 Amazon | Signed Paperback

If there were ever an author guaranteed to pull me out of my self-imposed reviewing retirement, it’s Molly McAdams. I’m pretty sure there is very little I wouldn’t do to read more of her words as soon as humanly possible. Even in Fix, which I would classify as one of her more light-hearted reads (but trust me, there is nothing light about the book, it’s just not quite as heart-wrenching as most of her work), my heart felt like it was being battered and bruised by the emotionally wrought journey Ms. McAdams was taking me on. There is no experience quite like reading a Molly McAdams book, and for that, I will be eternally thankful she keeps delivering these powerful pieces of art to her readers.

When I started Fix, I was well and truly on the fence about Rae, she wasn’t immediately likable, and that’s okay. As I continued reading, I slowly began to appreciate her and eventually got to the point of feeling absurdly protective of her. She had been so severely damaged the people and words that should have meant the most to her; it was no wonder she acted the way she didn’t and was so afraid to put her faith and trust in another human being. Sawyer wasn’t immediately endearing either, but he won me over much more quickly. The pain he wore was far less disguised and bled out of him in the way he lived to help everyone around him. Watching them each slowly, painfully reveal the sources of their scars was beautifully agonizing. Seeing how they finally learned to heal and put their harrowing pasts behind them gave me a sense of peace and hope. Rae and Sawyer weren’t always easy to love, but they were incredibly easy to fall for.

One of my favorite aspects of Fix was how much of a character the location was. It wouldn’t have been – couldn’t have been – the same story anywhere but in the quaint little town of Amber. Molly McAdams did an excellent job of taking me out of my front room and into the world she built in Fix. Between the cast of supporting characters, the way she made me love everything about how Amber operated, and how much the town was woven into the fabric of who Sawyer was, I felt very much connected to the picture-perfect setting of Fix.

Fix was a smart romance, it had just the right amount of snarky humor and agonizing emotions to keep me fully enthralled in Rae and Sawyer’s story. Ms. McAdams delivered a great beginning to her new series, Brewed. She gave me just enough of a glimpse into the characters who will be featured throughout the rest of the series to ensure I will be coming back, time and again, to the town of Amber to endure all the pain and love she surely has in store for me.

Cropped view of youngcouple embracing and relaxing on bed at home. Vintage casual look. Torn blue jeans. Winter time

MollyMcAdamsMolly grew up in California but now lives in the oh-so-amazing state of Texas with her husband, daughter, and fur babies. When she’s not diving into the world of her characters, some of her hobbies include hiking, snowboarding, traveling, and long walks on the beach … which roughly translates to being a homebody with her hubby and dishing out movie quotes. She has a weakness for crude-humored movies and fried pickles, and loves curling up in a fluffy comforter during a thunderstorm … or under one in a bathtub if there are tornados. That way she can pretend they aren’t really happening.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Website | Instagram
Sign up for Molly’s Newsletter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.